Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
Multicaster != Wizard levelEdit
This class isn't wizard level in power. Having the casting ability of a wizard 3 levels below you and a cleric 3 levels below you is, frankly, unimpressive. If you just outright had a cleric of level X-3 and a wizard of level X-3, they'd have an encounter level of X-1, and that's before you account for a character of this class having half the actions the cleric-wizard tag team would have. You also have significantly more MAD than either of the component classes, unless you go with two Charisma-based arcane casters.
Mystic Theurge is Rogue level at most, and this is just a Mystic Theurge with some class features that don't drastically up its power. Not everyone who casts spells is as powerful as Wizards & Co. Quantumboost 01:19, January 28, 2010 (UTC)
- Correct, though notice one thing I did, I allowed them to combine spell slots. That grants a LOT more spells per day to the spells they want. Eventually they don't have to worry about taking dual casting classes anymore either (the CL for both is equal to your biggest), just for those going into epic territory. Though, if you don't think that is enough, do tell. I don't mind if it drops to rogue either, I just figure the spell slots bit is one of the bigger benefits. My only problem (which I can't really solve) is that over your build you go from Wizard to Rogue to Wizard, so there's a power slump. That's mostly a problem with Mystic Theurge. -- Eiji Hyrule 02:00, January 28, 2010 (UTC)
- "Wizard level" needs to have a little wiggle room on either side of the actual baseline class, as do all the balance points; no class is going to match its baseline precisely. Mystic theurge is high rogue, I agree. But it is very high rogue, considering that even even a caster that is a spell level and a half behind is still much more powerful than a rogue at the same level. These additional class features do significantly boost its power, and whether it hits the power of the wizard class is debatable. However, they absolutely do boost it into the power level of a full single-classed spellcaster (perhaps on par with a sorcerer, which would be considered "low wizard"). --DanielDraco 02:04, January 28, 2010 (UTC)