Fandom

Dungeons and Dragons Wiki

Talk:Simulacrum

Back to page

9,976pages on
this wiki
Add New Page

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

QuestionsEdit

what happens if a lv 14 human wizard PC uses this spell to make a copy of himself? does the simulacra created have PC levels? —Preceding unsigned comment added by Azerinth (talkcontribs)

As written, yes, you'd create a lvl 7 wizard simalcrum.--Tavis McCricket 18:15, May 26, 2010 (UTC)


'nother question. let's say that that lv14 human wizard died and is turned into a zombie, and then later a piece of the zombie's body is used as the material component for this spell. would the resulting simulacrum mimic a lv 7 human wizard, or would the simulacrum created mimic the zombie the wizard's corpse was at the time the piece was taken from him?--Azerinth 22:03, June 23, 2010 (UTC)

Firstly, a zombie has twice the hit dice of the base creature, ignoring class levels. So, a zombie of a 14th level human wizard would have two hit dice. Secondly, a simalcrum has half the hit dice of the creature it copies. So the simalcrum of a human zombie (if that's even viable) would have a single hit die. Thirdly, if zombie flesh is the base component, then IMO, a zombie is what you get.--Tavis McCricket 00:48, June 24, 2010 (UTC)
okay, i understand what you're saying, what if i destroy the zombie first, then take a piece, is it a considered a piece from a regualr corpse, or from a zombie corpse. if still zombie, what kind of spell do you think would be needed to make it be considered as a piece of a dead human again?--Azerinth 01:13, June 26, 2010 (UTC)
Good question. Given that you can use a (destroyed) zombie and rez it to make a person, I would say that a zombie's corpse is actually the corpse of (original race) rather than the corpse of a zombie, which is not the inherent natural state of this particular bone, piece of meat, etc. -- Eiji Hyrule 01:21, June 26, 2010 (UTC)
I'll have to disagree with you Eiji. Until the zombie is raised or ressurected, it's still a zombie. Even if you (re)kill a zombie, you end up with a zombie corpse. Flesh from that body is the flesh of a zombie. Simalcrum duplicates things, it doesn't restore them. So, imo, you'd still get a zombie. If you killed the zombie, stole a piece of flesh, raised the corpse, and then duplicated the flesh, then maybe I could see getting a duplicate of the live person.--Tavis McCricket 02:11, June 26, 2010 (UTC)

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki