Dungeons and Dragons Wiki

Max Skill level

Forum page

Revision as of 08:19, May 21, 2010 by Ezzetabi (Talk | contribs)

9,970pages on
this wiki
Forums: Index > Help desk > Max Skill level

The maximum skill ranks you can have for in-class skills is level + 3; if the skill is not in-class the maximum is halved and incrementing cost double.

My question is: when I level-up in a new class can I increment (paying double) a skill that was in-class for a class in a previous level?

E.g. I am a first level Rogue with 4 ranks in Bluff, and I am leveling-up as Fighter: can I increase Bluff paying two skill points? Thanks. Ezzetabi 20:51, May 20, 2010 (UTC)

Yes. For more info, see here :-) --Ghostwheel 20:56, May 20, 2010 (UTC)
Once a skill is a class skill for any of your classes, it always has the class skill rank limit of level +3. You still have to buy those ranks at the rate that your current class would normally have to though. So your example is spot on. The skill has the full cap because it is a class skill for at least one of your classes, but you still buy new ranks in it as a cross-class skill because it is not a class skill for your current class. I'll add this to Ghost's rules pointing for more rules on spending skill points in a multiclass setup :-). - TarkisFlux 21:51, May 20, 2010 (UTC)
I actually read the pages you linked, but I failed to find a precise reference in the Player Handbook (as you probably guessed English is not my native language). But if everyone says so... it must true. This gives a whole new meaning to the Rogue 19/Exemplar 1 Able Learner idea... Thanks a lot. Ezzetabi 08:19, May 21, 2010 (UTC)

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki