Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
The maximum skill ranks you can have for in-class skills is level + 3; if the skill is not in-class the maximum is halved and incrementing cost double.
My question is: when I level-up in a new class can I increment (paying double) a skill that was in-class for a class in a previous level?
E.g. I am a first level Rogue with 4 ranks in Bluff, and I am leveling-up as Fighter: can I increase Bluff paying two skill points? Thanks. Ezzetabi 20:51, May 20, 2010 (UTC)
- Once a skill is a class skill for any of your classes, it always has the class skill rank limit of level +3. You still have to buy those ranks at the rate that your current class would normally have to though. So your example is spot on. The skill has the full cap because it is a class skill for at least one of your classes, but you still buy new ranks in it as a cross-class skill because it is not a class skill for your current class. I'll add this to Ghost's rules pointing for more rules on spending skill points in a multiclass setup :-). - TarkisFlux 21:51, May 20, 2010 (UTC)
- I actually read the pages you linked, but I failed to find a precise reference in the Player Handbook (as you probably guessed English is not my native language). But if everyone says so... it must true. This gives a whole new meaning to the Rogue 19/Exemplar 1 Able Learner idea... Thanks a lot. Ezzetabi 08:19, May 21, 2010 (UTC)
- Ghost's multiclass skill note is on pg 59 pf the 3.5 PHB, and mine is sorta on pg 61. I say sorta because it's actually not as clear in the PHB as it is in the SRD, and you have to combine the point spending on pg 61 with the caps on pg 59 to get what was in my link. - TarkisFlux 16:10, May 21, 2010 (UTC)